Wayne State College

“Our Town” Contemplates the Human Experience

Published Monday, March 6th, 2023

Theatre Performance: Our Town

"Our Town" will show March 23-26 in the Black Box Theatre.

Today’s fast-paced world rarely promotes living in the moment. “Our Town,” often considered the best American play ever written, champions the ordinary in life as extraordinary.

Wayne State College Theatre Program presents “Our Town” on March 23-26 in the Black Box Theatre located in the Lied Performing Arts Annex of the Peterson Fine Arts Building. Shows are 7 p.m. Thursday, Friday, and Saturday; and 2 p.m. Sunday. Tickets are $5 per person, with free admission for WSC students, faculty, and staff. Tickets are available at the door, with no reserved seats. Seating is limited. “Our Town” runs approximately two hours and 15 minutes, including one intermission.

Written by Thornton Wilder, “Our Town” is a contemplative play examining the human experience. Published and first performed in 1938, Wilder won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama for this work the very same year. The story, presented in large part via narrator, follows daily lives in small town America. Teens fall in love. Townsfolk share aspirations, discuss daily tasks, and engage gossip. Later, when tragedy occurs, the transience of life is palpable.

“‘Our Town’ is not offered as a picture of life … or as a speculation about the condition of life after death,” explained Wilder. “It is an attempt to find a value above all price for the smallest events in our life.”

Cast members include Zachary Chromy of Schuyler, Neb.; Ashly Gunderson of Ida Grove, Iowa; Owen Brodd of North Bend, Neb.; Amanda Stuhr of Bellwood, Neb.; Griffin Presnell, Morgan Kruger, Noah Miller, and Maria Sellers of Omaha, Neb.; Anna Mayes of Beemer, Neb.; Nathan Reiland-Smith of Sioux Falls, S.D.; Macie Ebmeier of North Platte, Neb.; Sophie Pascoe of Whitby, New Zealand; Nevin Hayner of Valley, Neb.; Hannah Woolsey and Olivia Perske of David City, Neb.; Mariah Pleskac of Missouri Valley, Iowa; Josh Monson of Oakland, Neb.; Heather-Lillie Tomka of Lyons, Neb.; Buddy Osmond of Broken Bow, Neb.; Alycia Gage of York, Neb.; Madison Reisner of Yankton, S.D.; Madi Meyer of Wayne, Neb.; Debonaire Williams of Lafayette, La.; Kyle Hubbell of Le Mars, Iowa; and Tessa Masek of Wahoo, Neb.

“Our Town” is directed by Rusty Ruth, assistant professor of theatre. Brian Begley, associate professor of theatre, is technical director, scenic designer, and lighting designer. Nathania Mercelina of Willemstad, Curaçao serves as music director with Courtney Ullarich of Norfolk, Neb., serving as stage manager. Assistant stage managers are Zoey Campbell of Papillion, Neb.; Liam Hilbers of Norfolk, Neb.; and Tessa Masek. Costume designer Anna Mae Kruger of Wayne, Neb., is assisted by Nathan Brekel of Omaha, Neb.; Sophie Pascoe, and Maria Sellers. The lighting and electrics crew includes Kaylee Koch of Crofton, Neb.; Hunter Schilling of Columbus, Neb.; Jei Rosenbaum of Bellevue, Neb.; Ashly Gunderson, and Zachary Chromy. Kaylee Koch also operates the light board. House managers are Savannah Ameen of Lawton, Iowa; Jadyn Burenheide of Howells, Neb.; Maddi Glause of Palmer, Neb; Noel Huff of Yankton, S.D.; and Mikayla Walker of Coleridge, Neb. Set and props coordinators include Zoey Campbell of Papillion, Neb.; Laynee Merrill of Trenton, Neb., Kaylee Koch, Ashly Gunderson, Hunter Schilling, Zachary Chromy, Jei Rosenbaum, Liam Hilbers, and Noah Miller.

“Our Town” is presented by arrangement with Concord Theatricals on behalf of Samuel French, Inc. (www.concordtheatricals.com). For more information, contact Rusty Ruth at [email protected].