Wayne State College

WSC Student Chapter Receives Award from HR Society

Published Wednesday, October 5th, 2022

The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) awarded the WSC student chapter a 2021-2022 Merit Award designation.

The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) recently awarded a 2021-2022 Merit Award designation to the Wayne State College SHRM Student Chapter for providing superior growth and development opportunities to its student members.

The SHRM Student Chapter Merit Award program encourages the development of more effective student chapters and distinguishes outstanding activities and projects. Chapters are recognized based on operations, chapter programming and professional development of members, support of the human resource profession, and SHRM engagement.

“The members of our SHRM student chapters represent the next generation of HR leaders, and it’s critical to highlight the instrumental role they play in SHRM’s success,” said Johnny C. Taylor, Jr., SHRM-SCP, SHRM president and CEO. “The hard work of the Wayne State College Student Chapter shows the future of the profession is, indeed, in good hands. I applaud their accomplishments and ability to foster innovative programming, development, and interest in HR as we navigate changing workplaces.”

“I am proud of our student members,” said Dr. Brian Kufner, associate professor of Human Resource Management and co-advisor of the student chapter. “The chapter’s focus is to provide opportunities and professional development beyond what students are taught in the classroom. SHRM’s Merit Award recognizes students’ commitment to succeed in the human resource management profession.”

SHRM student chapters have the opportunity to earn an award based on the number of activities they complete during the merit award cycle, the most recent one of which lasted from May 1, 2021, to April 30, 2022.

For information on Wayne State College’s SHRM Student Chapter, please contact co-advisors, Dr. Brian Kufner, [email protected] or Dr. Patricia Arneson, [email protected].