Wayne State College
Act Now

Northeast Nebraska Teacher Academy (NENTA)


The Northeast Nebraska Teacher Academy (NENTA) was developed to alleviate a serious substitute teacher shortage in northeast Nebraska as well as to enhance the quality of instruction by substitutes through substitute instructional workshops, direct on-site mentoring by teachers and administrators and the use of a standardized lesson planning format all of which positively impacts student learning in the participating districts.

Qualified Wayne State education majors serve as substitute teachers in the 16 participating schools in Northeast Nebraska. They are paid for substituting and receive mileage reimbursement.  

WSC students are used to augment the regular substitute teaching force, not replace it. Having additional substitutes available provides regular teachers opportunities to take advantage of staff development specifically for curriculum, instruction and assessment as well as other professional topics of interest. Meeting school improvement goals enables partner school districts to enhance the quality of the teaching/learning experience for all stakeholders.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Northeast Nebraska Teacher Academy is to increase student achievement by affecting quality staff development and substitute teacher performance through the Northeast Nebraska Teacher Academy.

The Goals of the Northeast Nebraska Teacher Academy

  • Increase the pool of quality substitutes in Northeast Nebraska
  • Improve availability and equitable use of substitute teachers
  • Enhance the quality of instruction delivered by a substitute teacher in the participating school districts
  • Positively affect retention of teachers during their first five years in the profession

Partner School Districts

The following school districts are partners in the NENTA Consortium:

  • Allen
  • Bloomfield
  • Clarkson
  • Homer
  • Laurel-Concord-Coleridge
  • Leigh
  • Norfolk Catholic
  • Norfolk Public
  • Omaha Nation
  • Pender
  • Schuyler
  • South Sioux City
  • Stanton
  • Walthill
  • Wayne
  • West Point
  • Winside
  • Wisner