Wayne State College

Plains Writers Series and Poetry Slam 46 Set for March 2

Published Thursday, February 23rd, 2023

Featuring Mark Sanders.

Wayne State College’s Language and Literature Department, the School of Arts and Humanities, and the WSC Press are pleased to hold this spring’s Plains Writers Series on Thursday, March 2. The Plains Writers Series is held several times a year to bring attention to the prose and poetry of Great Plains writers through reading and interacting with area audiences.

This Plains Writers Series event will feature Mark Sanders. The reading will begin at 2 p.m. in the lounge on the second floor of the Humanities Building at Wayne State College. This event will be livestreamed on the Plains Writers Series Facebook page.

Following the Plains Writers Series will be Poetry Slam 46. The slam will be held at the Max Bar and Grill in downtown Wayne, starting at 7 p.m., with registration starting at 6 p.m. Slam participants need four original poems and $5 registration fee. All events are free and open to the public.

About the Reader:
Mark Sanders is a native Nebraskan, currently living and farming in East Texas. His poetry, criticism, and creative prose have appeared widely in publications in the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, and New Zealand. Among his numerous books are Landscapes, with Horses (SFA Press, 2018) and In a Good Time (WSC Press, 2019); both titles received Nebraska Book Awards, while the former received the 2019 Western Heritage Award, and the latter received the 2020 Spur Award. He is currently finishing work on a book of creative prose, a memoir entitled Homecoming Parade. A new book of poems is also in the works, The Messiah Horse. He is the longtime publisher of Sandhills Press; his work as an editor led him to be the 2007 recipient of the Mildred Bennett Award for fostering Nebraska's literary heritage.

For more information:
Chad Christensen
WSC Press Managing Editor
[email protected]