Wayne State College

2024 Music Theatre Honor Choir Concert Set for April 10

Published Thursday, March 28th, 2024

Fifty area high school students will perform music recently used in Broadway shows at 4:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 10, in Ley Theatre.

Accomplished high school singers from Nebraska and Iowa will perform at the Wayne State College Music Theatre Honor Choir concert at 4:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 10, in Ley Theatre, located in the Brandenburg Building. Admission is $5 for adults with free admission for children 12 years of age or under.

The concert will also be livestreamed. To view the livestream, go to www.wsc.edu/watch-live. The program will be accessible by selecting the event from the Music Events list at www.wsc.edu/music.

Throughout the day, Wayne State Chamber Choir members will act as mentors and rehearsal leaders in preparation for the concert. The Wayne State Chamber Choir will also perform during the concert.

Directors Dr. Matthew Armstrong, director of choral activities at Wayne State, and Shelly Armstrong, collaborative pianist at Wayne State, have centered the day’s learning on music recently used in Broadway shows. Repertoire includes the high-spirited “Brand New You” from “13” by Jason Robert Brown, the love song “Every Single Day” from “Harmony” by Barry Manilow, and the spunky “Don’t Rain on My Parade” from “Funny Girl” by Jule Styne.

From hundreds of applicants, 50 singers were selected for the Music Theatre Honor Choir. They are:

Hinton, Iowa – Tristan Groves, Ayden Soroka, Ian Hertenstein
Battle Creek – Taylynn Aldag, Piper Rivest
Bloomfield – Blake Hochstein, Benjamin Dodge, Myranda Eckmann, Evan Hollander, Michael Dodge
Columbus – Fatima Munoz, Sheyla Monteya-Gonzalez, Nathaniel Navarette, Aidan Ballentine, Yazhir Chavez
Elkhorn North – Kallie Lindquist
Gordon-Rushville – Amara Funk
Grand Island – Lauren Brown, Joseph Hayman, Kennedy Miller, Avery Rogers
Hartington-Newcastle – Aaralyn Collier
Lincoln North Star – Ryan Nelson
Malcolm – Madison Pavlik
Norfolk – Lydia Kent, Allison Disch, Charis Phelps, Levi Phelps, Becca Asbury, Emma Boeshart, Carly Love, Jay Koozer
Ponca – Brooklynn Lowe
Ralston – Justin Garrison
St. Paul – Lauren Sladek
Schuyler Central – John Lopez, Alex Aldana
Stanton – Chelsea Kment
Wakefield – McKinnley Mogus, Jackson Pommer
Wayne – Olivia Hanson, Kenna Blecke, Jordyn Clinchard, Gavin Anderson, Ceilus Ibarra, Colby Raulston, Wanso Barner, Gabriel Armstrong, Norah Armstrong, Aiden Bohnert

For more information, contact the Wayne State Department of Music at 402-375-7359.