Wayne State College

1970 Football Team

Inducted: 2006

In 90 years of Wayne State football, the 1970 football team is the only one in school history to appear in a post-season game. The 1970 team played in the Mineral Water Bowl at Excelsior Springs, Missouri, falling to Franklin College of Indiana 40-12. The Wildcats finished the 1970 season with a 7-3 record, going 3-0 in the Nebraska College Conference. The 1970 team posted wins over Nebraska-Omaha, Chadron State, Kearney State and Peru State during the season. Six players from the team were named to the NAIA District 11 football team, led by All-American candidate and Nebraska Football Hall of Fame member Sam Singleton. The senior running back from Elizabeth, New Jersey rushed for 1,111 yards that season, scoring eight touchdowns while averaging 4.0 yards per carry. Other players named to the All-District Team that season were offensive tackle Dennis Joy, guard Mike Houlihan, center Gary Gottsch, linebacker Reggie Smith and defensive back Doug Radtke. Head coach Del Stoltenberg was named the NAIA District 11 Coach of the Year. The team was ranked as high as seventh in the NAIA Division II National poll that season. The 1970 WSC football team was inducted into the WSC Athletics Hall of Fame on October 7, 2006.