Wayne State College
Act Now

Wayne State College Professor Earns Nebraska Academy of Sciences Award

Published Friday, March 10th, 2017

Dr. Todd Young, physics and astronomy professor at Wayne State College, will receive the Friend of Science Award in April.

Dr. Todd Young of Wayne State College will be awarded the Friend of Science Award, the top award at the Nebraska Academy of Sciences (NAS) Annual Meeting in Lincoln on April 21. 

Dr. Mary Ettel, professor of chemistry at Wayne State College, won this award in 2007. I am humbled and honored,’’ Young said.  

NAS awards the honor in recognition of a person in Nebraska who has made significant contributions to science or science education across the state.

Formal or informal educators or industry professionals may earn the award.  The NAS Executive Committee nominates and selects the award winner.

Todd Young is a professor of physics and astronomy at Wayne State College. He is also the director of the Fred G. Dale Planetarium on the WSC campus. Dr. Young's research interests include variable stars, cosmology, and science technical, non-fiction, and fiction writing. His teaching interests are physics and astronomy education and outreach.

Dr. Young is a member of the Great Plains Planetarium Association, the International Planetarium Society, the Western Alliance Planetarium Association and the Nebraska Academy of Science. 

He received the George Rebensdorf Teaching Excellence Award from the Nebraska State College System in 2008. Every year a faculty member earns the Rebensdorf Teaching Excellence award for demonstrating innovation and leadership in teaching and service in the Nebraska State College System, which includes Chadron, Peru and Wayne State colleges. Administrators, fellow faculty, students, and alumni nominate candidates. The Lincoln Community Foundation manages the endowment in memory of George Rebensdorf, a former member of the Board of Trustees. The Wayne State College nominee for the Rebensdorf Teaching Excellence Award also receives the State National Bank Teaching Excellence Award. 

Dr. Young serves as the coordinator of the Nebraska Science Bowl and the Rural Health Opportunities Program (RHOP) at WSC. He is also the president of the Majestic Theater Advisory Board.