Wayne State College
Act Now

Wayne State College Spring 2008 Commencement

Published Monday, May 5th, 2008

A total of 529 degrees – 211 graduate degrees and 318 undergraduate degrees – were conferred by Wayne State President Richard J. Collings.

Wayne State College held commencement for graduate students at 9:30 a.m. and undergraduates at 2 p.m. May 3 in Rice Auditorium. A total of 529 degrees – 211 graduate degrees and 318 undergraduate degrees – were conferred by Wayne State President Richard J. Collings.

Graduate Invocation Speaker

Charles Curnyn a school administration graduate, gave the invocation at the graduate ceremony. Curnyn earned his bachelor’s degree at Wayne State in 1983, majoring in health and physical education. He is originally from Omaha, and married to Molly Curnyn, with whom he has a son, Nicholas.

Curnyn played football for Wayne State from 1975 to 1978 as a defensive back and later worked as a graduate assistant football coach and in the intramural department. He currently serves as a K-12 health and physical education teacher at Osmond Community School.

Graduate Commencement Speaker

Brett Wiedenfeld delivered the commencement address at the graduate ceremony. He graduated with a master’s in business administration. Originally from Newcastle, he graduated summa cum laude with a bachelor of science in business administration in 2007 with a double concentration in finance and economics from Wayne State. He is the son of Mark and Patty Wiedenfeld and the husband of Leah Wiedenfeld. He is a member of Phi Kappa Phi honor society, Sigma Beta Delta business honor society, and Delta Sigma Pi international business fraternity.

Alumni Achievement Award and Baccalaureate Ceremony Speaker
The Wayne State College Alumni Achievement Award was presented to Dr. Terri Monk, a professor in the Department of Anesthesiology at Duke University Medical Center in Durham, N.C., during the undergraduate ceremony. Dr. Monk earned her bachelor of science degree at Wayne State College in 1973. She also delivered the commencement address at the undergraduate ceremony.

She received her M.D. degree from the University of Nebraska and completed a residency in anesthesiology at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. She has been awarded a career development award by the National Institute on Aging. This award supported her clinical research program evaluating the mechanisms responsible for postoperative cognitive dysfunction following major surgery. Her other major research interests involve blood conservation strategies, geriatric anesthesia, and long-term outcomes following anesthesia and surgery.

Dr. Monk is a founding member and past president of the Society for the Advancement of Geriatric Anesthesia and serves as a representative to the American Geriatric Society's Section of Surgical and Related Medical Specialties. She had the honor of delivering the Rovenstine Lecture at the American Society of Anesthesiologists conference in October 2003. The Rovenstine Lecture honors the memory of Emery A. Rovenstine, M.D., who, at the time of his death in 1960, was considered the most knowledgeable anesthesiologist in the world.

Baccalaureate Invocation Speaker

Timothy McKenna gave the invocation at the undergraduate ceremony. He received a bachelor of science degree with high honors in the major. Originally from Parker, Colo., McKenna majored in speech communication and minored in advertising at Wayne State. He is the son of Richard and Jeanene McKenna.

McKenna studied in Costa Rica during his education at Wayne State and has served as a peer speech tutor for the college’s Learning Center. He also has held several senior leadership positions within the Residence Life program at Wayne State. In addition, he has worked as a Navigator for the college admissions office. McKenna also found the time among his many campus commitments to gain election as President of Circle K International, Area 1 Lieutenant Governor for Nebraska-Iowa Circle K International, Governor of Nebraska-Iowa Circle K International, and National President of Lambda Pi Eta - National Communication Honorary.