Wayne State College
Act Now

Wayne State College Awards Honorary Doctorate to Nic Windeshausen

Published Tuesday, April 28th, 2015

Nic Windeshausen will receive an Honorary Doctorate of Pedagogy during spring commencement exercises on May 9.

Nic Windeshausen

Dr. H. Nicholas (Nic) Windeshausen will join exclusive Wayne State company when he receives an Honorary Doctorate of Pedagogy from Wayne State College during spring commencement exercises on May 9 in the Willow Bowl. Windeshausen, a resident of Citrus Heights, Calif., has been a Wayne State Foundation trustee since 1994.

Windeshausen was born in Osmond, Neb., in 1923. He married Joyce Pilger on May 3, 1946. Joyce’s great uncle, Adam Pilger, served an instrumental role in the creation of Wayne State by introducing a bill in the House of Representatives on Jan. 23, 1909, to purchase the Normal School in Wayne for the state of Nebraska. The bill was passed on March 18, 1909, and was signed by the governor April 6, 1909. The Normal School at Wayne became Nebraska Normal College at Wayne in 1910. The name was later changed to Wayne State Teachers College. Nic and Joyce raised two daughters and have three grandchildren. Joyce lost her battle with cancer on January 10, 2008.

Windeshausen graduated from University of Nebraska in 1954 with a bachelor of science degree in accounting, a master’s degree in finance in 1955, and a Ph.D. in marketing and management in 1962. Joyce graduated from Wayne State College in 1941 with an associate of arts degree in education and received her bachelor of science in education from the University of Nebraska.

Honorary doctorates granted by Wayne State include Esper Boel and Nebraska Gov. Kay Orr in May 1985; Charles Trimble in May 2002; Alex G. Spanos in 2003; Hilda Neihardt in July 2004; and Dr. H. Nicholas Windeshausen.

Windeshausen received the Honorary Alumnus Award from California State University, Sacramento, in 2003. He received the Lifetime Achievement Award from Delta Sigma Pi for his 60-plus years of service to the academic world and Delta Sigma Pi in 2011. Windeshausen served as chairman of the Editorial Advisory Board from 1965 to 1969 and was then appointed to Grand Council as Director of Education for Business in 1969. He was a United Way volunteer for many years and a U.S. delegate to five international conferences and was responsible for national, regional and Sacramento, Calif., area functions.

Windeshausen conducted workshops and programs in marketing and management including Peace Corps training programs for the Philippines and Brazil. He served in the U.S. Navy Reserve for more than three years during World War II. He was named an Admiral in the Nebraska Navy in 1962, an honorary position bestowed by the Nebraska governor since 1930 upon those who demonstrate a commitment to promoting the “good life” in Nebraska. He taught at University of Nebraska-Lincoln for seven years and at California State University-Sacramento for 30 years, serving as department chair of the marketing department and associate dean.

Windeshausen has conducted Model-Netics training seminars across the country and internationally, including at Wayne State College. The primary objective of Model-Netics is to increase organizational productivity by promoting efficiency and effectiveness of employees.  The program is organized around 151 models that deal with the management process, delegation, planning, control, change, problem solving, decision making, motivation, learning and training, communication, selection-evaluation-compensation, and leadership. He has conducted more than 100 programs with Model-Netics, which included Cal-Western Life, Department of Health (State of California), Yuba College (California), California State University (Sacramento), Albany Life (London), University of Nebraska-Lincoln, United Way (Sacramento), American Institute of Banking, California Chapter (San Francisco) and University of California (Berkeley). 

Windeshausen was nominated for the honorary doctorate by Wayne State President Curt Frye; Dr. Michael Anderson, vice president for Academic Affairs; Phyllis Conner, executive director of the Wayne State Foundation and vice president for development; Dr. Vaughn Benson, dean of the School of Business and Technology; Dr.  Pearl Hansen, professor of art; and Wayne State student Emily Streff.