Wayne State College

2010 Volleyball Team

Inducted: 2022

The 2010 Wayne State College volleyball team finished 26-4 overall and was 17-3 in the NSIC, advancing to the NCAA Division II National Tournament. This team started the year with 16 straight wins, a new school record that broke the previous win streak of 15 consecutive wins set the year before. The 2010 Wildcats were the first team in school history to achieve a #1 national ranking in NCAA and they were ranked #1 twice during the season. #2 WSC beat #1 Minn. Duluth on October 1, 2010 and was ranked #1 on October 4th. Following a road loss at #16 Minnesota State, the Wildcats battled back and became #1 in the nation again three weeks later and battled co-#1 Concordia-St. Paul in Rice Auditorium in a match that attracted 1,153 fans to rank 10th on the single match attendance list. The 2010 team also set the single match attendance record beating UNK before a school record crowd of 1,536 and ranked fifth in NCAA Div. II in home attendance that season. Five players from this team were named to the All-NSIC Team – Jennifer Hefner and Diedra Artz (1st Team) Leigh Connot was NSIC Libero of the Year with Tali Fredrickson and Mindy Moody honorable mention. Hefner was Academic All-District and was a repeat ESPN the Magazine First Team Academic All-American in the 2010 season.