Wayne State College

2010 Softball Team

Inducted: 2019

The 2010 Wildcat softball team was 43-14 during the season, setting a school record for wins and placing second in the NSIC with a 21-5 league mark. WSC won the 2010 NSIC Softball Tournament for the first time in school history. The team went on to host the NCAA Central Regional, another first for the program, and won all three games (beating Minnesota Duluth 1-0, Concordia-St. Paul 7-3 and Augustana 2-1) to advance to the NCAA Super Regional vs. Metro State in Colorado. WSC dropped hard fought games of 2-1 and 6-2 in 8 innings to see its best season in school history come to an end. WSC led NCAA Division II that season with a .982 fielding percentage. The team had five players named to the All-NSIC Team. Junior pitcher Katie Goetzinger was named NSIC Pitcher of the Year. Senior outfielder Amy Sandstrom and junior first baseman Jennifer Radley were First Team All-NSIC while juniors Sam Earleywine and Blaire Kuhl were Second Team. Goetzinger was later named Louisville Slugger/NFCA All-American Third Team to go with ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American Second Team. The 2010 Wayne State College Wildcat Softball Team was inducted into the Wayne State Athletic Hall of Fame on October 5, 2019.