Wayne State College

1967-68 & 68-69 Men's Basketball Teams

Inducted: 1997

The three Wildcat men's basketball teams from 1967-70 were the school's first teams to win 20 games in a season. All three of these squads advanced to the NAIA National Tournament in Kansas City. Under the leadership of Dave Gunther, the Wildcats compiled a 70-13 three year overall record, the best in school history. The 1967-68 squad compiled a 24-3 mark, followed by a 23-4 record in the 1968-69 campaign. In the 1969-70 season, the Wildcats posted a 23-6 record. A total of 23 players comprised the rosters during these three years, including six players who were on all three teams. Those six players include Mick Anderson, Dean Elofson, Paul Emanuel, Bill Goodwin, Rich McGill and Dave Schneider. The accomplishments of these teams can still be found in the WSC record books. The 1,482 rebounds by the '69-70 squad is still a Wildcat single-season record, while the 84.0 points per game average of the '67-68 team is the seventh-highest scoring average in school history. The Wildcats also enjoyed individual success. Five of Wayne State's top 15 scorers played on at least one of these teams. They include Dennis Siefkes (1,576 pts), Dean Elofson (1,358 pts), Bob Strathman (1,149 pts), Dave Schneider (1,148 pts) and Bill Goodwin (1,113 pts). The three teams were inducted into the WSC Athletics Hall of Fame in the spring of 1997 and were the first teams to ever be chosen for the Athletic Hall of Fame at WSC.