WSC Newscenter and College Relations - 402-375-7324 Contact the News Center Newscenter Home



Writers Workshop on April 23 Will Feature Variety of Distinguished Authors

Published: 4-17-2014 11:00 am

Wayne State College will host a writers workshop on campus April 23 in Gardner Auditorium. The program, which is free and open to the public, will feature five accomplished writers who will discuss the process of writing, each for a different genre including fiction, poetry, childrenís books, contemporary non-fiction and history.

The schedule and authors:
9 a.m. - Pamela Everett, assistant professor of criminal justice at Wayne State College, has published extensively as a freelance writer and contributes columns on a regular basis to the Omaha World-Herald.

10:30 a.m. - Twyla Hansen, Nebraska State Poet for the term 2013-2018. Her newest book, Dirt Songs: A Plains Duet (with Linda M. Hasselstrom), won a 2012 Nebraska Book Award and was finalist for the 2012 Willa Literary Award and the 2012 High Plains Book Award. She has five previous poetry books, including Potato Soup, a 2004 Nebraska Book Award winner.

1 p.m. - Jonis Agee was born in Omaha and grew up in Nebraska and Missouri, places where many of her stories and novels are set. She was educated at University of Iowa (BA) and State University of New York at Binghamton (MA, PhD). She is Adele Hall Professor of English at University of Nebraska-Lincoln, where she teaches creative writing and 20th century fiction. She is the author of 12 books including five novels.

2:30 p.m. - Julia Cook earned a masterís degree in elementary school counseling from Wayne State College and is an award-winning author of childrenís books and a nationally recognized parenting expert. She has written 57 childrenís books with more than 1 million books in print. She has also published extensively in national magazines and has delivered hundreds of programs in schools across the country.

7 p.m. - Alan Taylor is a professor of history at the University of California at Davis. He will assume the Thomas Jefferson Chair in American History at the University of Virginia in August. He has written seven books and won numerous prizes. He won the Pulitzer Prize, the Bancroft Prize and the Albert J. Beveridge Award for William Cooperís Town: Power and Persuasion on the Frontier of the Early Republic (1995).

More information on the writers scheduled to speak at the event can be found at:

For more information, please contact Dr. Tammy Evetovich, Interim Dean of the School of Natural and Social Sciences, at 402-375-7030.


WSC Centennial Book

History Book

Flash | or | PDF

Purchasing Instructions Inside!

Find us on Facebook

Wayne State College
Our focus is your future
Find us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Watch us on Youtube
Linked IN