WSC Newscenter and College Relations - 402-375-7324 Contact the News Center Newscenter Home



Wayne State Picks Up 36 Golden Leaf Awards for Student Media

Published: 4-17-2014 10:45 am

Student media from Wayne State College won 36 Golden Leaf Awards at the Nebraska Collegiate Media Association’s spring banquet held this past weekend at Hastings College. The awards, which honor the work of student journalists at the state’s small colleges, allowed the Wayne Stater and 91.9 FM The Cat to finish second in the “general excellence” category of their respective newspaper and radio categories and KWSC-TV third in television.

The Wayne Stater’s coverage of last fall’s tornado earned a first place in the category for special edition. “Outstanding coverage from a variety of angles throughout this special tornado edition,” the judge commented. “Way to get everyone on staff involved.”

WSC winners in the newspaper category: Wayne Stater Editorial Staff, first place, series/special section/edition; Lauren Deisley, first place, headline writing; Kendall Uhrich, first place, investigative/in-depth reporting; Rich Rhoden, first place, sports reporting; Calyn Dunklau, first place, special graphics/infographics; Jennifer Connell, first place, feature photograph; Debbie Hernandez, second place, feature writing; Derek Pufahl, second place, hard news/sports reporting; Kella Rodiek, second place, page-one layout and design; Megan Tomasiewicz, third place, review writing; Megan Tomasiewicz, third place, headline writing; Seth Miles, third place, investigative/in-depth reporting; Wayne Stater Editorial Staff, third place, overall layout and design; Rich Rhoden, third place, sports photograph; Lauren Deisley, honorable mention, investigative/in-depth reporting; and Rich Rhoden, honorable mention, sports photograph.

WSC winners in the radio category: Connor Ryan, first place, radio event sportcast; Megan Kneif and Sarah Lentz, first place, radio newscast; Alazha Cootnz, Matthew Ostry, Morgan Ruterbories, Nathan Seaman, and Cody Talbott, first place, radio promotional series; Matthew Ostry, second place, radio promotional announcement; Steve Marik, second place, radio promotional series; Natalie Barber, second place, radio public affairs; Morgan Ruterbories, second place, public service announcement series; Natalie Barber, third place, public service announcement; Cody Talbott, third place, public service announcement series; Morgan Ruterbories, third place, radio sports story; Nathan Seaman, honorable mention, radio promotional announcement; and Nathan Seaman, honorable mention, public service announcement series.

WSC winners in the television category: Natalie Barber and Nathan Seaman, first place, entertainment: game show or talk show; Matthew Ostry and Marie Ostry, first place, short film; Laura Burtwistle, Alazha Coontz, and Trevor Reeves, first place, public affairs; Natalie Barber, second place, commercial; Mark Vrbicky and Sam Roh, second place, entertainment: game show or talk show; Natalie Barber and Nathan Seaman, second place, short film; M. Reagan Carriere, third place, promotional; Grant Otten, honorable mention, entertainment: music video; and Matthew Ostry and Marie Ostry, honorable mention, entertainment: miscellaneous.



WSC Centennial Book

History Book

Flash | or | PDF

Purchasing Instructions Inside!

Find us on Facebook

Wayne State College
Our focus is your future
Find us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Watch us on Youtube
Linked IN