WSC Newscenter and College Relations - 402-375-7324 Contact the News Center Newscenter Home




Concert Choir Students to Perform Work by WSC’s Pfaltzgraff


The Wayne State College Concert Choir will perform choral music by traditional and contemporary composers, including the Nebraska premiere of a work by WSC accompanist Philip Pfaltzgraff, at 7:30 p.m. Feb. 26 in Ramsey Theatre. The WSC Madrigal Singers will present a piece by John Rutter and a set of 20th century madrigals by Emma Lou Diemer.

Brian Burns will serve as conductor. There is no admission charge.
Composers Bach and Mendelssohn will be included with some works from present day musicians such as Spain's Javier Busto. Choir members will perform musical settings of some of the great poems of the English language, including texts by Shakespeare. Vocal students will perform a rendition of the famous poem by William Butler Yeats, "Aedh Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven." A Gospel-influenced finale will be followed by the premiere of Pfaltzgraff's new work.

Pfaltzgraff graduated from Westmar College in LeMars, Iowa, with a Music Education (major in voice) Degree. He has worked as a music educator, in public and private schools in Iowa, Florida and Michigan. In addition to a career in music education, he has served in music and pastoral leadership in churches in Iowa, Florida, and Michigan.


Wayne State College students included in the concert choir are:

Soprano I
Kenie Davidson - Hamilton, Mont.
Erin Galvin - Holstein, Iowa
Amanda Marvin - O'Neill
Danielle Rayman - Bennington
Calyn Schramm - Osmond

Soprano II
Tatiana De Los Santos - Papillion
Jamie Goc - Fairmont
Jerrica Kyger -  Bellevue
Ciera Marshall - Niobrara
Krista Ohde - Wolbach
Megan Olson - Bloomfield
April Osnes - Stapleton
Leslie Schaad - Leigh
Kayla Seefus - Fort Calhoun
Jordyn Vogel - Sheldon, Iowa

Alto I
Kayla Bradley - Council Bluffs, Iowa
Lea Bush - Eagle
Carly Collins - Fremont
Alyssa Hayse - Geneva
Melissa Meier - Elm Creek
Andrea Pelster - Elgin
Marisa Sieler - Norfolk
Kelsey Smith - Fremont
Jessica Stuthman -  Papillion

Alto II
Katie Bencken - Lincoln
Renee Dailey - Omaha
Emily Derby - North Platte
Jen Draper - Valparaiso
Kendra Herrmann - Norfolk
Abigail Hitchcock - Sparks
Mary McKenny - Wayne

Tenor I
Michael D. Fulton - Norfolk
Blake Lyon - Norfolk

Tenor II
Brett Dorcey - Wayne
Marshall Keough - Arcadia,
Sergio Orozco - Wisner,
Stanley Poitier - Nassau
Jesse Rosberg - Plainview
Bass I
Austin Dvorak, Laurel
Matthew Gunter, Norfolk
Eric Heithoff - Neligh
Matt Johnson -Hoskins
Harley Mohlman - Ceresco
Benjamin Schultz -  Norfolk
Christopher P. Weddel - Emerson
Matthew Weinrich - Pierce

Bass II
Evan Bartels - Wayne
Colby Jansen -  Pierce
Joseph Osborne - Papillion
Mark Rodgers - Elgin


WSC Centennial Book

History Book

Flash | or | PDF

Purchasing Instructions Inside!

Find us on Facebook

Wayne State College
Our focus is your future
Find us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Watch us on Youtube
Linked IN