WSC Newscenter and College Relations - 402-375-7324 Contact the News Center Newscenter Home




Two WSC Students Earn Nebraska Press Women Scholarships


Two Wayne State College journalism majors have been named recipients of scholarships from Nebraska Press Women (NPW), according to Dr. Ruth Brown, NPW president. The two, Skylar Osovski from Nebraska City and Sarah Thomsen of Wahoo, have been awarded the NPW Memorial Scholarship and the NPW Excellence in Media Scholarship, respectively. The scholarships will be applied to the spring semester.

Osovski, a mass communications-journalism major at Wayne State College, is editor-in-chief of The Wayne Stater student newspaper. As a freshman, she served as assistant sports editor. In addition, she assists with broadcasting football, volleyball and basketball games on the campus radio station, 91.9 The Cat. Her work with The Wayne Stater has earned her awards from the Nebraska Press Association, as well as a $2,000 NPA scholarship in April 2008 as one of two students awarded during the press association convention in Lincoln.

"Skylar has uncanny foresight and maturity for a college sophomore," said Dr. Max McElwain, WSC associate professor in the Department of Communication Arts.

 Thomsen also works on The Wayne Stater staff. She serves as a copy editor, reviewing and editing articles written by other students. Thomsen has consistently earned a place on the Deans' List while twice earning all-conference honors as a track-and-field athlete. She covers and participates in the Wildcat men’s and women's track-and-field teams.

"As the newspaper faculty adviser, and a former sports journalist, I normally would refrain from permitting a student to cover a team on which she is a member," McElwain said. "But Sarah is so conscientious and capable that she has succeeded in proving that policy a myth."

The two WSC students were selected from among a competitive group of applicants from private and public colleges and universities. The NPW Scholarship Committee selected the scholarship recipients. Members of the committee included Glennis Nagel, scholarship chair and director of Media Communications at the University of Nebraska at Kearney; Lori Potter, agriculture reporter for The Kearney Hub; and Jan Thompson, a lecturer in the UNK Department of English, and former arts and entertainment reporter for The Kearney Hub.

NPW annually awards two scholarships to upperclass or graduate women students entering the communications field. The scholarships are awarded competitively based on the students' professional and academic accomplishments.


NPW is a non-profit, statewide organization of Nebraska communications professionals. NPW is affiliated with the National Federation of Press Women.


WSC Centennial Book

History Book

Flash | or | PDF

Purchasing Instructions Inside!

Find us on Facebook

Wayne State College
Our focus is your future
Find us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Watch us on Youtube
Linked IN