WSC Newscenter and College Relations - 402-375-7324 Contact the News Center Newscenter Home




Wayne State College Professor Receives Teaching Excellence Award from Nebraska State College System




WAYNE, Neb. (May 6, 2008) – Dr. Todd Young, associate professor of physics and astronomy at Wayne State College, has been named as the recipient of the Rebensdorf Teaching Excellence Award from the Nebraska State College System. Dr. Young excels in the classroom, his profession and in the community.


The Rebensdorf Teaching Excellence Award is presented annually to a faculty member who demonstrates innovation and leadership in teaching and service in the Nebraska State College system, which includes Chadron, Peru, and Wayne State Colleges. Administrators, fellow faculty, students, and alumni nominate candidates.


In the supporting materials for his nomination for the award, it was noted that Young “constantly stresses the importance of physics as a tool for learning about the world around us” and continuously explores and investigates methods to better educate his students. He has applied this philosophy outside of Wayne State by helping secure two grants aimed at improving the content knowledge and teaching styles of practicing secondary teachers.


In a letter of support for his nomination, a fellow WSC faculty member wrote that Young receives great reviews from his students regarding the rigor of his classes and his commitment to their success. Other faculty members within Young’s department noted that he serves as inspiration for students by challenging them to perform well in physics, which translates to favorable scores on professional school and graduate school entrance exams.


Young is the 24th recipient of the Teaching Excellence Award. He was first selected as Wayne State College’s Teaching Excellence Award winner, which qualified him as a candidate for the system award. The NSCS Board of Trustees met in March and after careful deliberation, selected Young as the 2008 recipient. Several Wayne State College faculty members have won this statewide award over the years, including Clif Ginn, Cornell Runestad, Russ Rasmussen, Ken Halsey, Pearl Hansen, Deborah Whitt, Jean Karlen, Mary Ettel and Jason Karsky and Tami Worner.


The award includes a $3,000 stipend funded through an endowment at U.S. Bank. The endowment is managed by the Lincoln Community Foundation and is given in memory of George Rebensdorf, a former member of the Board of Trustees.


The Wayne State College nominee for the Rebensdorf Teaching Excellence Award also receives the State National Bank Teaching Excellence Award in the amount of $1,000. Wayne State College Vice President for Development and Executive Director of the Wayne State Foundation Phyllis Conner presented both awards to Dr. Young at the college’s baccalaureate ceremony on May 3.



WSC Centennial Book

History Book

Flash | or | PDF

Purchasing Instructions Inside!

Find us on Facebook

Wayne State College
Our focus is your future
Find us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Watch us on Youtube
Linked IN