find WSC on Facebook

Alumni Stories/News

Theta Phi Alpha Chapter Marks 25 Years of Sisterhood at WSC

Published: 6-3-2010 2:15 pm

Art Auction Winners
Row 1 - Kayla Nichols, Stacy Stark Keene, Tanya Redlinger Dana, Kathy Prokupek Gaver, Katie Lincoln Jordan, Kristin Windeshausen Henkenius, Claire Patridge, Amy Cooper, Kara Helgoth Woehler Row 2 - Jessica Helgren, Cassidy Seaman, Jessica Rivera, Amy Adams Richardson, Alicia Kempcke, Kristin Soper, Erin Olsovsky Saunders, Cheryl Barnes
Story courtesy of Kristin Windeshausen Henkenius

Theta Phi Alpha Women's Fraternity collegians and alumnae gathered April 16-17 at the Wayne Armory to celebrate the chapter's 25th anniversary on the Wayne State College campus.  The Alpha Pi chapter was installed Feb. 2, 1985. More than 70 sisters attended the events including four charter members.

The weekend was planned by collegians Jennifer Missel and Ashley Hodgins. Alumnae sisters were welcomed back to WSC on April 16 at a spaghetti dinner to reconnect with alumnae and meet the collegian sisters.  

The group took a campus tour April 17 to see all the changes made to the beautiful Wayne State campus. An alumnae luncheon and Theta Phi Alpha Northeastern Nebraska Alumnae Association meeting followed.  At the meeting, Audrey Miller was selected as the 2010 recipient for the Theta Phi Alpha Scholarship. Chapter alumnae contribute to this endowed scholarship fund through the Wayne State Foundation.  

The Founders' Day Ceremony was held the evening of April 17.  Sisters donated more than $400 to the Theta Phi Alpha Foundation through the Founders' Day Roll Call. The Senior Service Award was presented to Kayla Nichols. After a delicious dinner the White Rose Formal program for the evening began.

Brittney Firley, Chapter President, talked about the happenings of the chapter for the year. Cheryl Barnes, Charter Sister and Theta Phi Alpha's first president, explained the story of how Theta Phi Alpha came to be at Wayne State and what is was like during the first years. Kathy Gaver, Charter Sister and Theta Phi Alpha's current National President, recognized the leaders and accomplishments that have been a result of the Alpha Pi Chapter during the past 25 years.  It is an impressive list that includes three sisters who have served on Theta Phi Alpha's Grand Council, two who have served on the Board of Trustees, three Traveling Educational Consultants, many other National Officers, twelve Theta Phi Alpha Foundation Scholarship recipients, eighteen Senior Service Award recipients and two Guard of Honor Wearers. The chapter has received many national awards, including the Circle of Excellence at the 2008 National Convention.  

A special gift was presented to the chapter by Jessica Helgren, Northeastern Nebraska Alumnae Association President. The alumnae collected donations and presented the chapter with a vinyl banner to be used for recruitment, parades and Greek Olympics.   Next, Kristin Henkenius conducted a rededication of the chapter charter. It was very powerful to see Cheryl Barnes, our first chapter president and Brittney Firley, our current chapter president standing by our charter. The group's four charter sisters who were present were honored and recognized for 25 years of membership in Theta Phi Alpha.  These sisters did the honor of cutting the cake. Chapter awards and a gift basket raffle followed with the evening ending with the White Rose Formal Dance.

Donate Online


St. Louis Alumni Reunion

May 29


Catbacker Golf

June 5


Omaha Golf Wildcat Golf Classic

July 18

More Info

Extended Schedule



Ireland and Scotland Trip

Aug. 30 - Sept. 11, 2015

View Brochure

All Events

Recent Events

Photo of most recent reunion


Kansas City, MO

June 19, 2014

More Past Events

WSC Centennial Book

History Book

Flash | or | PDF

Purchasing Instructions Inside!

Wayne State College
Our focus is your future
Find us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Watch us on Youtube
Linked IN