find WSC on Facebook

Alumni Stories/News


Wayne State Students Earn Golden Leaf Media Awards

By Sarah Thomsen, The Wayne Stater


Wayne State media students were awarded on April 4 at the Nebraska Collegiate Media Association (NCMA) meeting in the Student Center on campus. The Wayne Stater was named 2009 Newspaper of the Year. This was last awarded to the newspaper in 2006.

The school TV and radio stations each earned second places in Overall Excellence in NCMA's Golden Leaf Awards.

WSC competed against Chadron State College, Hastings College, North­east Community College, Concordia University, Western Nebraska Com­munity College, Midland Lutheran College and Doane College. Judging was done by professionals in Kansas for both radio and TV entries, while judges from Florida evaluated the print entries.

"Wayne State did very well this year," associate professor Michael Marek, the radio advisor, said. "It reflects well on our program and students here at WSC."
"Some of the other schools we go up against have better resources, but it just shows good storytelling and good writing is always going to be rewarded," Maureen Carrigg, faculty advisor to the campus student-run TV station KWSC, said.

Overall Excellence awards were determined on a sweepstakes basis. Students sent in individual entries for a variety of categories under TV, radio and newspaper, and winners gained points for their school.

The Wayne Stater had four firsts, three seconds and one third in the newspaper, helping the Stater past second place Chadron. Radio had one first place, five seconds, two thirds, and seven hon­orable men­tions. There were three firsts and one second in TV.

"I'm very happy and proud of my students," Carrigg said. Students from the broadcast journal­ism class in the fall also received five awards for radio stories.
The day began with a keynote address by Senator Mike Flood, Speaker of the Nebraska Legislature. Flood discussed how media and the govern­ment work together, making the workings of the state legislature "a very transparent process."

Aside from serving in the Legislature, Flood is also a radio broadcaster. His advice to students in the field was to be able to write and report. A good on-air personality isn't always enough.

Breakout sessions followed, giving media students a chance to learn about topics like "Industry Trends in Video Production," "Working for Small Weekly and Daily Newspapers in a Changing Media Environment" and "Preparing for First Broadcasting Job."

"I was really happy with our presenters in our sessions," associate professor Max McElwain, Wayne Stater adviser, said. Former Stater staff members Rhea Landholm, Grace Petersen, Jacob Bettin, Savannah Wissig and Cliff Starkey conducted some of the sessions.

The day also included tours of Wayne State's media facilities before the award ceremony at 2 p.m.

"It's important to reward students' hard work, and a good way to tell students they're doing a great job," McElwain said.

McElwain's newspaper staff includes reporters from Advanced News Writing Class CNA 458. Staff positions include: News Editor.....Katelynn Wolfe ; Opinion Editor.....Ashley Ryan; Sports Editors....Candace Binder, Sarah Thomsen;  Lifestyles Editor....Laura Timperley; News Briefs Editor.....Skylar Osovski; Online Editor.....Chad Christensen; Advertising Department.....Sam Doerr, Jade Lippman; Accounting.....Mike Nissen; Circulation.....Chad Christensen Photo Editor.....Molly Mayhew; Photographers.....Lois Brunnert, Tim Gray; Copy Editors.....Chris Chase, Laquisha Cook, Weston Lundgren, Coartney Schneider, Sarah Thomsen; Columnists.....Brittany Cody, Laquisha Cook, Dennis Driscoll, Travis Moore, Kellan Stec, Laura Timperley; and Cartoonists..... Jaclyn Pendleton, Laura Timperley.


Overall Excellence: Media of the Year:
Television: 2nd: KWSC-TV, Wayne State College
Newspaper: 1st: The Wayne Stater, Wayne State College
Radio: 2nd: KWSC FM 91.9, Wayne State College

WSC individual awards: Television: Entertainment/Talk Show: 2nd, Robert Manuel, Ashley Robinson, Entertainment--Miscellaneous: 1st, John Kern, General News Reporting: 1st, Lois Brunnert, Public Service Announcement: 1st, Adam Cherek.

Newspaper: Cartoon: 3rd, Laura Timper­ley, Opinion: 1st, Laquisha Cook, Layout and Design: 2nd, Lois Brunnert, Hard News/Spot News Story: 2nd, Weston Lundgren, Investi­gative/In-depth Story: 1st, Justine McMullin, Special Design Graphs or Graphics: 1st, Devin Bethune, Sports Story: 1st, Skylar Osovski, 2nd, Deb Harm.


Radio: Air Personality: 2nd, Cody Gill, Feature News: 2nd, Rick Prusa, 3rd, Elliott Anderson, News Story: HM, Cody Gill, Promotional Announcement: HM, Lois Brun­nert, Promotional Series: HM, Rick Prusa, Mary MacClure, Public Service Announce­ment: 1st, Rick Prusa, HM, Rick Prusa, HM, Lois Brunnert, Remote Broadcast: 2nd, Ash­ley Robinson, HM, Ashley Robinson, Sports Story: 2nd, Kyle Redmond, 3rd, Joe Servin Transitional Element: 2nd, Lois Brunnert, 3rd, Nikki Simon, HM, Samantha McLey.



Donate Online


St. Louis Alumni Reunion

May 29


Catbacker Golf

June 5


Omaha Golf Wildcat Golf Classic

July 18

More Info

Extended Schedule



Ireland and Scotland Trip

Aug. 30 - Sept. 11, 2015

View Brochure

All Events

Recent Events

Photo of most recent reunion


Kansas City, MO

June 19, 2014

More Past Events

WSC Centennial Book

History Book

Flash | or | PDF

Purchasing Instructions Inside!

Wayne State College
Our focus is your future
Find us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Watch us on Youtube
Linked IN